Four Ethiopian opposition groups create new structure

(ASMARA, Eritrea) — Four Ethiopian opposition forces have formed a new alliance called Unity of Ethiopians for Democratic Change (UEDC) is a bid to reunite the efforts of the opposition groups in Ethiopia.

The members of the UEDC are Tigray People’s Democratic Movement (TPDM), the Ethiopian People’s Patriotic Front (EPPF), the Southern Ethiopia People’s Front for Justice and Equality (SEPFJE), and the Benishangul People’s Movement (BPM).

All these opposition forces are waging an armed struggle to remove the ruling from power. The TPDM is operating in northern Ethiopia, the EPPF is operating mainly in northwestern Ethiopia, the SEPFJE operates in southern Ethiopia, and the BPM operates in western Ethiopia.

In a joint communiqué issued today in the Eritrean capital Asmara, the organizations said that they would further enhance their military, political, propaganda and cultural activities under the leadership of UEDC.

The organizations called on Ethiopians living in the country and abroad, opposition groups and the Ethiopian soldiers to stand alongside the alliance and give their support in the struggle against the ruling coalition in Ethiopian.

The main opposition groups like the Oromo Liberation Front (OLF), Coalition for Unity and Democracy (CUD) or Kinijit with its different factions and The Ogaden National Liberation Front (ONLF) are not part in this new armed opposition alliance.

Source: Sudan Tribune